Members of Tajikistan’s upper house (Majlisi Milli) of parliament have unanimously seconded president’s proposals on renaming a number of cities and districts in the country

The 14th session of the Majlisi Milli of the fifth convocation, presided over by its head, Mahmadsaid Ubaidulloyev, took place in Dushanbe on February 16.

The session, in particular, seconded president’s proposals on renaming a number of cities and districts in the country, including Qurghon Teppa and Sarband.  

Recall, by president’s decrees issued on January 20 a number of cities, districts and settlements in the southern Khatlon province have been renamed.  The city of Qurghon Teppa (an Uzbek name), the capital of the Khatlon province, was renamed Bokhtar.  The city of Sarband was renamed Levakand.  The district of Bokhtar was renamed Kushoniyon.  The township of Vose, the administrative center of the Vose district, was renamed Hulbuk.  Besides, several villages in Vose and Yovon districts have been renamed.

Majlisi Milli members on February 16 also seconded laws on making amendments to the country’s tax code and the laws on livestock breeding and grain.

Under Tajikistan’s legislation, the Majlisi Milli considers and seconds laws adopted by the Majlisi Namoyandagon.  The Majlisi Milli shall second the law by a majority of votes of the total number of its members.  In the event the Majlisi Milli doesn’t second the law, it shall be considered at the Majlisi Namoyandagon repeatedly.

If the Majlisi Namoyandagon does not agree with decision of the Majlisi Milli, the law shall be considered to be adopted if Majlisi Namoyandagon by not less than two-thirds of the votes confirms the decision previously adopted by it.

Only the Majlisi Namoyandagon shall adopt the Law on the State budget.  The Majlisi Namoyandagon shall control over execution of the budget.