A group of deputies of the European Parliament arrived in Dushanbe today to take part in the second session of the Committee for Interparliamentary Cooperation between European Union and Tajikistan.

A group of 9 deputies is headed by Paulo Bertalochi, a source in the Lower Chamber of Tajikistan’s Parliament told AP. The second session of the committee is scheduled for May 4 in the Dushanbe residence of the Tajik Government.

European parliamentarians are scheduled to meet with Tajikistan President Emomali Rahmon, speaker of the Majlisi Namoyandagon of the Majlisi Oli Shukurjon Zuhurov to discuss further expansion of interparliamentary relations..

According to the Tajik-EU Partnership and Cooperation Agreement, the first session of the committee was held in Brussels on March 14-15, 2011. The session discussed human rights issues, supremacy of law, political situation in the country, political and socio-economic reform, water resource management, implementation of hydropower projects and etc.