Head of the Qubodiyon district in Khatlon province, Zafar Fayzullozoda, who is member of the ruling People’s Democratic Party of Tajikistan (PDP), has been nominated for by-election to the parliament’s upper house (Majlisi Milli) in Khatlon constituency.

By-election will take place on April 23, according to the Central Commission for Elections and Referenda (CCER). 

By-election is held in Khatlon constituency to replace Saidumron Abdurahmonzoda who retired from the Majlisi Milli in connection with being appointed deputy head of the Committee for Environmental Protection under the Government of Tajikistan. 

Citizens who reached 30 years of age and have higher education are eligible to be elected to the Majlisi Milli.

The Majlisi Milli has 33 members and 25 of them (three-fourths of the total number of members of the Majlisi Milli) are elected at joint meetings of people’s deputies of the Gorno Badakhshan Autonomous Region and its cities and districts, provinces and their cities and districts, Dushanbe city and its districts, cities and districts subordinate to the center, on the basis of indirect elections by means of secret ballot.

Eight members (one-fourths of the members of the Majlisi Milli) are appointed by the President of the Republic of Tajikistan.

The Gorno Badakhshan Autonomous Region, provinces, Dushanbe City, cities and districts subordinate to the center have an equal number of representatives in the Majlisi Milli.

Each former President of the Republic of Tajikistan shall be the life member of the Majlisi Milli, if he doesn’t refuse to use this right.

Recall, the ruling party has nominated Ms. Mavloudakhon Mirzozoda, a judge at the Sughd regional court, to run in by-election to the lower house (Majlisi Namoyandagon) of the parliament in constituency # 14 (Bobojonghafourov district of Sughd province).

The by-election in constituency # 14 are scheduled for April 23,

Muqimjon Saidov, the head of the administrative-legal department in the Sughd regional administration, will compete with Ms. Mirzozoda for seat in the Majlisi Namoyandagon.  Saidov has been registered with the electoral commission as self-propelled candidate.   

Ms. Mavlouda Qalandarzoda who represented constituency # 14 in the Majlisi Namoyandagon retired from the parliament in February this year in connection with being appointed to head Tajikistan’s High economic Court.

The Majlisi Namoyandagon is elected on the basis of universal, free, equal, and direct elections by means of secret ballot.  The Majlisi Namoyandagon is professional and functions on a permanent basis.  Citizens not younger than 25 years can be elected to the Majlisi Namoyandagon.

The People’s Democratic Party holds 51 out of 63 seats in the Majlisi Namoyandagon.